The Process

Strategy's 2013 awards began the same way as in years prior, with an open call for Canadian agencies to submit their best campaigns from the past 12 months.
However this year, instead of a first round where they submitted a short synopsis of their best work, all eligible agencies entered with comprehensive case studies (five for AOY and three for MAOY and DAOY) for campaigns they had executed over the past year. From there, separate cross-industry judging panels marked the work online and in isolation.
Each campaign was given two marks from one to 10 based on strategic insight and creativity. Judges who declared conflicts were omitted from the scoring process on the applicable cases or agencies. The top-scoring agencies in each category made up the final shortlist, based on a natural drop-off point in the scoring. The MAOY jury also chose the Media Director of the Year and the Next Media Star.
The scores were totaled and averaged with equal weighting, and the agency with the highest final score was the winner. The shortlisted agencies, in winning order, are listed below.

The Shortlist

  • John St.
  • Taxi
  • BBDO
  • Leo Burnett
  • Zulu Alpha Kilo
  • Sid Lee
  • DDB
  • Rethink
  • Cossette
  • Lg2
  • Lowe Roche
  • Grey Canada
  • Ogilvy/OgilvyOne
  • Cundari